Anomaly detection in Satellite Imagery

Deep convolutional generative adversarial networks, GANs

Daniel Moraite
DataSeries
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2020

--

I have been recently inspired by Omdena’s last summer's challenge, to detect anomalies on Mars surface, and thought to spot, using GANs, any type of technological signature detected around forests for deforestation purposes.

Why an unsupervised approach? because of the challenges in the data set:
a. data collections and no predefined labeled dataset, forest ‘surface’ is very diverse, the same ‘surface’ in different seasons looks very different,
b. data imbalance, forest surface has millions of square kilometers and on this surface, we have to spot anomalies measuring not more than a few 10s of feet each. Let us have a quick look at the generator and discriminator models structure:

Daniel Moraite 2020

I have chosen RGB images and trained using all 3 channels. Though since I don’t want to create too much of a carbon print (would be ironical: saving trees though creating more carbon in the process) I have chosen to train for 20 epochs. Of course, keep in mind this is a demo and it all depends on the data and project purposes.

Daniel Moraite 2020

After training the GANs I have a test. As you can see above: I have computed the anomaly score on a sample from the test set, as well on unseen data, and had a quick look at the generated images. Now, time to test on unseen complex images(and I get promising results):

Daniel Moraite 2020

Observations: natural/forest data has a lover anomaly score, while technological signature data/objects have a higher score:

Daniel Moraite 2020

Conclusions: it can be quite useful and definitely worth a look at.

Daniel Moraite 2020

--

--

Daniel Moraite
DataSeries

My passion for technology and previous roles inspired me to get closer to the practical side of things and I started studying data science and coding on my own.