How to Run MS SQL on Your Mac

The hassle has been brought to ease!

Sudharshan Ravichandran
DataSeries

--

It was about the time when I first purchased my first Apple Computer, the Mac Book Pro 2018. It was a privilege and a luxury for a student to own a MacBook Pro from the country I come from. Well yeah, and it was the first time I started to deviate from Windows after 13 years. I was to take my final project and until I started development, I came to realize, HOW DO I RUN MSSQL ON MY MAC?!

And here is some information that I think would save you some time on your grinding to finding your answer.

1. Install Docker

The macOS does not allow users to run MSSQL directly unlike Windows, where it is simply installation of the MSSQL Server and MSSQL Server Management Studio. However, in the macOS, there is a similar approach to run MSSQL.

The MSSQL Server and MSSQL Server Management Studio in Windows will be directly replaced by Docker and Microsoft Azure.

Docker is an open platform that consists of individual containers, which let a user package, develop, run, and shop applications. It can be downloaded here. During installation, it is always recommended to allocate a memory of at least 4GB in preferences to run the SQL Server.

--

--

Sudharshan Ravichandran
DataSeries

Software Engineer 🎓 | Boxer 🥊 | Writer✍️ | “Just do what you LOVE, that’s what I’m doing”