Start Coding in 5 Minutes With Jupyter Notebook

Let Your Coding Journey Begin

Niall McNulty
DataSeries

--

Funnily enough, I decided to write this article for my mum. For the past month, I have been writing a ‘Beginners Guide to Python’ with new articles coming out each week. The aim is to help those wanting to start their Python journey. My mum has been following along step by step like the super fan she is. However, she mentioned she couldn’t keep up anymore without a medium to write and execute code on. So voila! This article was born to address that issue.

This article will get you set up on Jupyter Notebook to the point where you can write and execute Python code (Jupyter Notebook supports over 100 languages). I will give step by step instructions, keeping it simple and with as little technical jargon as possible. Along the way, you will use your Terminals /Cmd, so I will include a mini-tutorial on how to navigate those as well.

For those unfamiliar with Python, it is a popular coding language with uses ranging from web applications, websites, data analytics, data visualisations, web-scraping, robotics, machine learning etc.

Let’s crack on shall we?

--

--

Niall McNulty
DataSeries

I’m a junior data scientist who enjoys long-distance running, football, travelling, reading, food, programming… the list could go on. Never stop learning!