Here’s a Toast…

Marking exactly ten years since I put pen to paper to envision Data & Society, I have decided to step down from its board of directors in March 2023 and join the organization’s advisory group.

danah boyd
Data & Society: Points
4 min readOct 4, 2022

--

In early March of 2013, I schemed a crazy scheme — one that would evolve into Data & Society, an amazing organization filled with brilliant people doing important work. Since then, I have played many roles in the organization. Event planner. Fundraiser. IKEA chair builder. Research coordinator. While many aspects of my role have changed over the years, I have always been the founder and president of the board of directors, the governing body of Data & Society.

An early version of the Data & Society logo

I love Data & Society. I always will. In recent years, I have purposefully stepped back from the day to day of the organization to enable a transition that I knew I would eventually want to make. I have been ecstatic to watch it grow and become more than an extension of its founder. So many people have contributed to making this possible, but especially Janet Haven, who turned my duct-tape ridden project into an organization five years ago and continues to serve as the organization’s fantastic executive director. Given the strength and stability of the organization, I believe it’s time for me to take the next step and turn over the reins entirely.

I have decided that I am going to step down from Data & Society’s board of directors in March 2023, when my current term ends, and join the organization’s advisory group. This will mark exactly ten years since I put pen to paper to first envision the organization. I have asked the board to accept my decision not to renew my board seat next March and they have kindly supported me (although there were first various sweet versions of nooooo). To enable a smooth governance transition, I have also decided to step down from my role as board chair now. I am utterly delighted that one of our earliest advisors and current board members, Charlton McIlwain, will be taking the mantle. My respect for Charlton and gratitude for his support is deep. I relish the opportunity to work with him as he takes the governance helm.

I’ve watched a lot of founders strangle the organizations they birthed, years after they should’ve let go. Many of my advisors warned me about this pattern when I started Data & Society, often chiding me not to create danah-and-society, a moniker that has always made me groan. (I promise that is not where the org’s name came from!) I’ve always likened this guidance in my mind to parenting lessons: Don’t be a helicopter parent. Let your kid be independent. You should not be the center of your kid’s universe when they go to college. Etc. While my role shifted with each new employee, I started stepping back properly three years ago, working to fade into the background while maintaining my governance duties. So, for me, this is a natural transition.

While this decision is bittersweet, I also know that Data & Society is in excellent hands. Janet will continue to serve as the executive director and there’s an amazing senior leadership team in place, and dozens of staff who do highly impactful work (many of whom I haven’t met, since they came on board after I started stepping back!). The bones of the organization are strong, the mission is clear, and the work could not be more relevant or important at this moment in time. I’m excited about the forward-facing strategy that the team recently announced.

Since my research continues to align with activity at Data & Society, I expect I will find new ways of collaborating and engaging without the awkwardness of being in a governance position. And, really, I know there’s a bit of Hotel California in all of this: In March, I will transition into the role of advisor, happy to offer my perspective when called upon and delighted to engage with the organization on its terms and to regale youngins with tales of the olden days when we had to climb uphill in both directions.

Later this fall, I intend to engage in some nostalgic reflection. Organizations like Data & Society build on and learn from their pasts to be stronger in the future. I am deeply grateful to all who helped this effort grow into what it is today, and so I hope I can entice folks to join me in collectively reminding ourselves of where Data & Society came from, and to jump in to usher the organization into its next stage. So stay tuned for that!

In the meantime, let’s look forward and collectively wish Data & Society a strong and healthy future. In our own virtual realities, let’s raise a glass in a toast to a brighter and more just tomorrow!

--

--

danah boyd
Data & Society: Points

researcher of technology & society | Microsoft Research, Data & Society, NYU | zephoria@zephoria.org