Salmon Felix on the over-designed beautiful news page

David Connell
david connell
Published in
1 min readMar 30, 2014

Today, when you read a story at the New Republic, or Medium, or any of a thousand other sites, it looks great; every story looks great. Even something as simple as a competition announcement comes with a full-page header and whiz-bang scrollkit graphics. The result is a cognitive disconnect: why is the website design telling me that this short blog post is incredibly important, when in reality it’s just a blockquote and a single line of snark? All too often, when I visit a site like Slate or Quartz, I feel let down when I read something short and snappy — something which I might well have enjoyed, if it just took up a small amount of space in an old-fashioned reverse-chronological blog. The design raises my expectations, even as the writers are still expected to throw out a large number of quick takes on various subjects.

via Against beautiful journalism | Felix Salmon.

--

--

David Connell
david connell

Writing about technology, art and design, soccer, and some fiction. My interests seem to be wide ranging.