Yeah, it’s a rainbow like Steve Jobs!

Why join the navy if you can be a pirate?

Davide Giordano
davide.giordano

--

This famous quote by Steve Jobs came to my mind on the first moment I’ve entered bunq’s office in Amsterdam. Why? Honestly working in a bank has never been on my wish list, banks were something that I’ve always perceived far and distant from my own mindset.

After all I took a degree in Computer Science, finance and banks should have been the last of my problems after hours spent on coding, algorithms and electronic circuits (always hated them 😤)

Then something happened, I was doing my own things in Italy when these guys at bunq contacted me: we’re a bank and we’re looking for smart people, wanna join?

Five interviews later and 848km from my hometown Torino I was in bunq’s offices and suddenly realised:

If the traditional banks are the navy then those guys must be the pirates.

And not because we’re 70 people competing against financial behemoths with 10.000 employees. But because in the big sea of finance we’re the pirates who want to give a strong shoulder push to traditional banks with something completely new and closer to the needs of today’s users and future consumers: millennials.

The future looks bright

And so then, with mum’s approval and blessing, who for the first time has been able to understand what my job is “my son works for a bank, easy no?”, I’m here in Amsterdam, working on something that is going to be international!

Feeling like a pirate?

That’s life! 🏴‍☠️

--

--

Davide Giordano
davide.giordano

Startup & Technology enthusiast | Product Owner @bunq