Community Spotlight: Aviv Klasquin Komissar

Rachel Linnewiel
DAV Network
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2018

Today for our DAV Community Spotlight, we take a behind-the-scenes look at Aviv Klasquin Komissar. Aviv has been involved in the early architecture of Mission Control and our first Captain of a project to coordinate simulated drones. I’ve also come to find out he has a love for hummus and its many benefits. Let’s learn some more about what else Aviv’s been up to.

How have you been contributing to the DAV Foundation?

I helped design the cloud infrastructure of the Missions app and created a drone simulator for the very first demo. I also participate in system architectural debates when needed, sharing my thoughts and experience.

Aviv Klasquin Komissar, DAV GitHub Contributor

What’s the most exciting thing you’ve worked on?

The drone simulator! I really love building realtime apps and this was something like that. I’ve used a timestamp ordered queue using a SortedSet on Redis. I really enjoyed the challenge; it’s unusual for a regular software developer like me to write software that manages machines.

What drives you to continue to be a DAV contributor?

I have a pretty long list of answers for this question. I think that the most important one is the product itself. The solution that DAV offers is a much-needed one. Technologies that make autonomous vehicles possible are evolving faster and faster and the need for a supporting platform is already here. A decentralized platform seems just perfect. The second answer is the team. I follow the team’s work even when I’m not contributing and I think that they do everything right. I love being inspired by that. There are many more important reasons like how much I’m inspired by DAV’s great CTO, Tal Ater, the exciting technology, and so forth.

When was your “ah ha!” moment for DAV?

When Tal first told me about DAV I was overwhelmed just hearing about “a platform for autonomous vehicles on a blockchain”. How cool does that sound? Anyway, my “ah ha!” moment came later on, deeper into the project, when I realized that a flying drone will be able to plan a mission relying on charging stations en route, which it will be able to use, even when the service provider is unknown to that drone. The financial transaction between both entities will then be completed automatically and on the spot.

Who’s your favorite superhero or fictional character, and why?

I don’t have a favorite superhero because there can’t be such. I have a lot of heroes and a mix of them all is the best inspiration. My group of heroes can beat any superhero in the world because when working together, everyone can contribute.

What gets you excited about DAV?

I think that the technology that DAV develops will make autonomous vehicles utilize their full potential in helping people. It’s very exciting to be part of this revolution.

--

--