Life is Your Masterpiece — Artist Mahboubeh Turns Fashion into Fine Art

AuthentiKate
DAW Magazine
Published in
4 min readMay 29, 2022

Last, but certainly not least, we had the pleasure of interviewing our fifth artist for the Desperate ApeWives artist collaboration program. Mahboubeh studied textile design but her true passion is in the art side of fashion and oil painting. She has worked with some of the largest fashion publications in the world and just like DAW characters wear iconic looks, Mahboubeh’s subjects also feature stunning styles proving that fashion can be as impactful in art as it is on the runway.

The vibrant wardrobe colors in Mahboubeh’s art are reminiscent of some of the neon fashion spotted at the Met Gala and her fans on Twitter have fun posting pics comparing the lively styles!

It’s clear why she has such a passionate following when you look at the quality of her work. From the bright and eccentric pieces to the more serious portraits, every woman portrayed has a distinct vibe and story. The women in her portraits are inspired by real people but they are completely transformed to become an imaginative persona. Fantasy collides with realism in her unique work creating true masterpieces.

We are looking forward to unveiling the masterpiece she has created for the DAW drop soon and we are honored to have had the opportunity to interview her about her journey.

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your artistic background.

Painting has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. I studied textile design at university and then started working as a textile designer for a few years. But my real passion has always been painting and designing clothes since I was a little girl. So in 2018 I became a full time fashion illustrator. In 2020 Nick Knight asked me to cover Milan fashion week for SHOW studio. I also had the pleasure of working with British Tatler magazine and ELLE magazine. In 2021 BRON studios invited me to paint the stars of the movie Cyrano. I also had the pleasure of working with Fashion Trust Arabia, Magrabi and Basic magazine. My work has been featured in British Vogue and Vanity Teen.

How do you describe your art style?

I think the best name I can possibly make for my style is sarcastic realism.

Are the people in your paintings based on real people?

I always paint based on photographs, but I change them completely.

Where do you come up with your ideas?

Idea walks, meditation, music, nature and science.

Is there a message you hope to get across with your art?

My fashion illustrations are all about joy but in my oil paintings I try to express my life experience as an individual.

Who inspires you as an artist?

Hieronymus Bosch, there are so many artists, scientists, philosophers that inspire me.

What is your favorite piece you’ve done?

What I’m most proud of is my oil paintings. My favorite fashion illustration is a painting of a woman inspired by King Solomon wearing a Rick Owens gown levitating in a field.

How did you first enter the NFT Space?

I heard about it in 2021 and minted my first piece on FND but I wasn’t all in for the first few months and then I fell in love with the freedom it provided me as well as the community.

Tell us a little about the piece you’ve created for the DAW artist collaboration program.

I tried to keep it in the DAW spirit — fun and light hearted, but fashionable!

Are you working on any upcoming projects?

Currently my main focus is my collection, Nostalgic Diary.

If you could give one piece of advice to an aspiring artist what would it be?

Success is an ever growing process. Your life, your story, is your biggest masterpiece so take your time with it, believe in yourself, be yourself, be patient.

Learn More About Mahboubeh
Twitter

Artists, Click Here to Apply for the Artist Collaboration Program

--

--

AuthentiKate
DAW Magazine

Desperate Apewives Marketing Strategist. Just a DAW girl in an NFT World