The Power of Proximity

Dawid Naude
Dawid’s Blog
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2018

--

Should you consider going back to the office?

Currently I travel 75% of the time. It’s not ideal, particularly with a young family.

When I’m back in my home city, I tend to work from home. When I’m travelling I’m almost always on client site, so I don’t get to bump into colleagues randomly.

I didn’t travel this week and worked from the office instead. Open hot-desk offices are terrible things and have many well documented flaws, but being able to meet random people, bounce ideas, ask for help, share experience, is something that is best done face to face, and like the best nights out at university, are unplanned.

Work from home or office?

Both and neither. Work from home and you won’t get the random opportunities that come from someone overhearing your conversation in the office. These shouldn’t be underestimated, most good roles are given to people who are known, even only superficially. This gets more exaggerated the more senior you become.

Work from the office, especially if it’s an open office, you’ll be faced with several interruptions and horribly distracting barriers to deep work.

There’s no absolute here, some people say that 1 day from home per week is optimal.

However, the conduit to more opportunities, and therefore more money, is hard work and relationships. Working from home only gives you one of those.

If you work from home

These tips have helped me stay on task.

  1. Get a good home office setup.
  2. Set boundaries with your family. When you’re working you’re unavailable except for emergencies.
  3. Get out — don’t spend the whole day in one place.
  4. Get exercise before and after your working day. It can just be a short run around the block.
  5. Don’t flick your project manager an sms in the morning saying “hey, going to work from home today”. It’s crap. It’s lazy. Communicate it well in advance.

However, personally if I work from home for 2 days in a row, I get distracted. I get bored. I feel isolated. My vision narrows to what’s in front of me.

That’s when it’s time to get to work.

--

--