What’s in your bag?

Dawid Naude
Dawid’s Blog
2 min readSep 26, 2017

--

If you were forced to carry all of your belongings on your back, what would be inside?

I always get enamoured by the eccentric. I love reading James Altucher’s work. He’s been a millionaire, and within months had nothing left. Now he’s a millionaire again but moves from airbnb to airbnb, carrying all his belongings in a backpack.

I won’t be getting rid of my possessions in a hurry, but maybe I should? After doing this there’s obviously a ton of things that are missing. Cutlery, exercise clothes as a starting point, as well as many others. However I still enjoyed the exercise.

It felt really good picturing that as all my belongings, free of all our other possessions. I once read of a celebrity who’s house had burnt down and she said it was the greatest incident as she let go of everything. It’s the same for one of my best friend’s father, who lost it all in a divorce. They loved being free of the things that tie you down.

I’ve also developed a saying – “I don’t have space for that in my bag”. I use this as my answer to gossip, jealousy, regret and fear. It doesn’t always work.

--

--