Mindfulness and the Importance of Posture

Lessons From: Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind

Marcus Falcore
Day-To-Day Spirituality
3 min readJul 4, 2019

--

“These forms are not the means of obtaining the right state of mind. To take this posture is itself to have the right state of mind. There is no need to obtain some special state of mind.”

Beginner’s to meditation often don’t know how to start. One of the difficulties of beginning a meditation practice is its simplicity. This can actually make it feel misleading.

“So you just sit there and do what?”

As Beginners, we want a goal to work towards. We want to have something to do so we’re not bored during meditation. Even experienced meditators get caught in this from time to time. That’s why it’s good to start with, and come back to, the basics. As you read more about meditation from different sources, which you should, you will quickly find there are many different styles and techniques. This can become confusing to a beginner and even lead seasoned meditators into weird places. Despite all the different styles and techniques, there is a common thread that connects every good meditation practice. Personally, this is why I like Zen and why I keep coming back to the Zen style of meditation and particularly Suzuki’s style of Zen meditation.

“To take this posture itself is the purpose of our practice. When you have this posture, you have the right state of mind, so there is no need to try to attain some special state.”

When meditating it is important to have a good, solid posture. Experienced meditators sometimes tell people that they can meditate anytime and anywhere. While technically this is true, with practice you can become mindful or bring up a meditative state at will, however, especially for the beginner, but equally true for the seasoned meditator, it is important to practice regularly in a quiet place and with a solid posture. You do not have to sit in some painful full lotus position to have a good solid posture, but you should sit up with a straight back and your chin slightly down. In Zen, the focus of meditation is on the posture and breathe.

When the mind is settled on the breath and the posture it is in the moment. It’s not distracted because it’s settled on the body. Sure, thoughts will still come, but they are less likely to carry you away. If you sit to meditate with a goal in mind you will get distracted and you won’t be in your body. Your mind will wander around looking for the goal. “Am I enlightened yet?” it will ask. “Am I mindful enough?” Thus you will miss your own goal by concentrating too much on its outcome.

“The most important point is to own your own physical body. If you slump, you will loose your self. Your mind will be wondering about somewhere else; you will not be in your body.”

I find this helpful not just when I meditate but also during my daily activities. At work, I sometimes feel distressed and anxious because I start doubting my work or I get caught up with some deadline. “Is this good enough? Am I going to get this done in time? Am I productive enough?” The same thing happens when I write. I sit there looking at the screen as thought fire off in my head. “Is this good enough? Am I wasting my time here? Am I wasting my life?”

Once I catch myself in this cycle of worry and anxiety I find that if I correct my posture, sit up straight, and focus on just doing the task at hand then these thoughts slow down and fade away. By concentrating on doing the task itself leaves little room in my mind for anything else. There is no room for worry, fear or anxiety. Some thoughts may slip in but because my attention in on the work there is nowhere for it to land.

--

--