Meet Debi Crouse AKA iembellish

Dayflash Multi Medium Artist

Justin Werner
Dayflash Blog
4 min readOct 6, 2020

--

You’re in a foreign town…not sure where. It’s interesting, it’s stimulating and very profound. You take a walk and see things that you’ve never seen before though there’s this familiar feeling. Have you gone back in time or are you in some futuristic alternate universe?

As you drift further along in this place you start to feel at home. You even start to forget that yesterday even happened though you know it did. You stop into an intriguing little eatery and take a seat. That’s when you make up your mind. Home sweet home.

Piece by Debi Crouse on Dayflash

Dayflash is excited to introduce one of our most unique and treasured artists…Debi Crouse.

Debi Crouse’s Dayflash profile

Digital Art Piece by Debi Crouse shared to Dayflash

Piece by Debi Crouse on Dayflash

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your art?

“I was educated in Art by teachers that let my free spirit wander countless mediums. I found soft pastels to be one of my favorite ways to express myself. As a child I thought everyone tasted color literally. One day I told my teacher a certain color tasted good and she responded sternly by telling me not to eat my pastels! I was confused and told my father. He had no idea what made me too but told me maybe we should keep that as a little secret to ourselves. From that day forward, he always supported my quirkiness, giving me endless amounts of Art supplies. He often asked if something “tasted good” I’d tell him it is random and it’s when my brain see colors that vibrate…don’t try to make sense of it because the tastes aren’t like food or any taste I can compare it to. It is a fleeting taste and it’s unique to that glimpse my brain sees. Not sure but I mention it because it greatly influences my art.

Another work of digital art by Debi Crouse shared to Dayflash

Piece by Debi Crouse on Dayflash

I am color driven and play with it as others may play cards. I shuffle them and push boundaries with them to trick the eye into having to look. Certain colors are irresistible to the human eye and coupled with a storyline it seems to be what people like about my work. My gift is wicked good imagination which allows for some interesting pieces. I am self-taught in Photoshop so I spend endless hours learning and experimenting. I am so fortunate to be a digital artist which enables me to work around the world.” — Debi Crouse, Dayflash user @iembellish

A classic piece by Debi Crouse shared to Dayflash

Piece by Debi Crouse on Dayflash

What do you love most about Dayflash?

“I am blessed to work from home collaborating with other creators on Dayflash. I have met the most amazing creatives here.” — Debi Crouse, Dayflash user @iembellish

Another amazing image by Debi Crouse shared to Dayflash

Piece by Debi Crouse on Dayflash

Anything else you’d like to add?

“My work has gained attention by musicians and I have crested EP covers for many metal, rap and instrumental groups. I’ve been fortunate to show in Times Square at Chashama, Brick Lane in London, SCOPE and Art Basel Miami. I have a dream job who could ask for more.” — Debi Crouse, Dayflash user @iembellish

One last image by Debi Crouse shared to Dayflash

Final thoughts…

To learn more about Debi, you can find her on Dayflash @iembellish, Instagram @iembellish and www.debicrouse.org

If you liked this story and would like to read more, follow Dayflash Blog and Justin Werner on Medium or download the Dayflash app from the App Store.

--

--