Feeling Seaside Blues

Nicole
Daylife
Published in
1 min readJan 24, 2021

White cotton on azure sea
I wonder what you saw in me?
I keep thinking we’re meant to be
I like you before I like me

Footsteps imprinted on white sand
Scent of pressed flowers in my hands
Love in ways I don’t understand
Like living in a foreign land

Rippling reflections on the sky
I question truth; I believe lies
Because you told me “You are mine
And I’ll cherish you for all time”

Waves crash into rocks on the shore
Happiness morphs into old sores
We ran out; there’s no love no more
What were we even trying for?

The truth is infatuation
Is unprescribed medication
A temporary vacation
With forgotten expiration

Approaching crossroads, we part ways
Can’t linger on past yesterdays
There are words that we wish to say
Love that we save for rainy days

I miss the cold of December
Warmed by your contagious laughter
Post-us, what awaits me after?
Another sad-ever-after

--

--