28-Hours

A day and a bit in my life.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
5 min readMar 23, 2022

--

Photo by Phillip Flores on Unsplash

An excerpt from my daily diary.

22nd March

I slept well and was up just before 4 am and feel relaxed. I was packed and set off early a little after 9:30 am. I drove to the Caltex in Vincentia and put 10.04 liters of unleaded fuel in the tank and bought 2 packets of snack food all up costing $24.95. The fuel has shot up to $2.09 Cpl due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. I went to check the tire pressures, but the pump wasn’t working. I then drove to Vincentia Market Place and the Ampol Service Station there. Their tire pressure inflator didn’t work either. The tires looked okay, so I proceeded on my way. I drove through Nerriga and on towards Goulburn driving carefully to avoid the potholes from the recent flooding rain. I drove to the park in Goulbourn adjacent to the Sydney/ Taralga intersection and used the amenities and had lunch of a chicken schnitzel I’d cooked before leaving. I then proceeded past Taralga onto Jerrong Road. Parts of the road were washed away by the recent rain, and I slowed to a crawl to avoid the numerous potholes. I drove down to the Abercrombie River crossing and stopped and surveyed the water across the track. It looked shallow and wasn’t moving and I drove into it very slowly and then to my horror only meters from the other side the motor cut out and I couldn’t restart the car. I opened the door, and the water was up to the door sill. I located the satellite phone I always carry on my trips to the land. By some sort of miracle, I was able to ring Lynette and she phoned back thinking I’d made it to the cabin. I told her of my dilemma and asked her to contact the NRMA. The road service group I subscribe to for maximum cover. I gave her my membership details, to report my problem and request assistance. I was somewhat mortified that with all the warnings about not crossing roads with water over them, and many people coming to grief and even a few washed away and drowned, I’d been stupid enough to do that and had landed myself in a precarious position. No other traffic came my way hoping for a 4WD and tow out. It wasn’t an option to vacate the vehicle, as with my impaired mobility and unknown firmness of the bottom of the flood-swollen creek, I could easily come to further grief and leave what I figured the safest and most practical place in the car with my phone and food and remaining dry. After about 10-minutes I tried once again to start the car that previously seemed to have lost all electrics. I was amazed it started immediately. I selected a low gear and tried to proceed forward only sinking further into the sandy bottom. I then selected reverse and was able to move back a little way. I then put it in drive and miracle of miracles the rear wheel Limited Slip Differential worked, and the back wheels bit and I drove out of the water, to my great almost unbelievable relief. I reckon someone was looking after me. I tried unsuccessfully to re-contact Lynette on the Satellite Phone. I then drove to the locked gate on my land and wedged it open and removed a sapling tree fallen across the road. A little further on there was a large rock in the middle of the road. I could only just lift the heavy lump washed down the hill from the recent flooding rain, and roll it off the track. On the way down to the cabin, I had to lift and put aside several smaller and one larger tree that had fallen across the track. I finally reached the cabin a little before 2 pm. Even though it’s autumn the weather was fine and hot and was nearing 30 degrees Celsius in the cabin. It took some time before contacting Lynette again with the Satellite phone signal hard to maintain. Thankfully in time to cancel my request for help from the NRMA Road Service.

I unpacked and opened the windows to get some cooler air and circulation inside the cabin. I settled in later and snacked for dinner and read more of my intriguing current novel by Bryce Courtney “The Potato Factory” I did get some sleep through the unseasonal heat and thoughts of my lucky escape reran through my mind.

23rd March

I was up at 4 am the following morning to the sound of heavy rain on the roof. I tidied up and got away at 6 am. I took the road away from the Abercrombie River and joined the bitumen road between Bathurst and Goulburn and turned left toward Goulburn on a murky sunrise morning in showery and humid conditions. I drove through to Goulbourn and bought more expensive unleaded fuel at $2.20 Cpl in this neck of the woods. I had coffee and snacked and rang Lynette on my mobile and thanked her for her support and told her in more detail the dilemma yesterday and my plan to take a different route home today via Kangaroo Valley. I then joined the motorway to the Exeter turn off and then proceeded to Fitzroy Falls and further to the Kangaroo Valley Road that to my chagrin was closed through landslides from the recent rain. I was directed north to Robertson in the Southern Highlands. I immediately ran into a virtual “White Out” of fog, mist, and drizzly rain and had to drive with great care for the next hour. I descended through the dripping greenery of the beautiful rainforests to the coast and Albion Park. I joined the divided road and drove to South Nowra and took the muddy car through the carwash and had coffee and a snack. I finally arrived home after 1 pm after a driving time of 5-hours on the road and 350 km. Whereas the direct route in fair conditions is 230km and about 3-hours of driving time. That concludes my 28-hour epic trip to the land and cabin that will remain etched in my mind hereafter.

Copyright reserved

David Rudder
23rd March 2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.