Acquired Frontal Lobe

Damage.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readSep 27, 2023

--

Old photo, Dougie RHS before the accident. Property of Author.

Acquired not desired,
It can happen in a blink,
In a dash, then a smash,
Faster than you think.

I nearly went there yesterday,
A simple rule ignored,
Look left then right and left again,
Or not be here anymore.

Then my mind can quickly find,
The reason I’m perturbed,
I’ve seen it right before my eyes,
A brain that’s been disturbed.

It happened to my son Douglas,
We think fuelled by alcohol,
Now he has brain damage,
From a road crash debacle.

He was run over in Tokyo,
His life then changed forever,
Even though the physical blow,
His mind never got better.

Like a knife now his life,
Is shredded into pieces,
Anger is what he feels,
That’s what the disease is.

He lives alone in his home,
In complete isolation,
In a world where there is,
Freedom in desolation.

It’s called acquired Frontal Lobe Damage,
He lives in another world,
That has been turned upside down,
Into which he was hurled!

©

David Rudder
2017

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.