Australian

Eucalyptus leaves

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

--

Photo by Valeriia Miller on Unsplash

Scenes I’ve seen in colours,
The green, the gold, and the reds,
Unique, there are no others,
They are held together by thin threads.

The distinctive smell of eucalyptus,
Crunch and they release,
For quids, I wouldn’t miss this,
It leaves my mind at peace.

Pressed between my fingertips,
New shoots as smooth as satin,
Then move the scent up to my lips,
Underneath, my footsteps flatten.

I hear the sound of birdsong,
The earth below my feet,
The chorus of the morning throng,
Each step comes up to greet.

In the bush, the shove and push,
It is replaced by the quiet,
And a koala quietly hiding
I was enveloped by night.

Then at night, to my delight
The kindling for the fire
Twigs and eucalyptus leaves
The dancing flames we admire

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.