Cynthia

Eulogy.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readApr 6, 2022

--

Cynthia. Photograph by Author.

It’s been a while since I saw your smile
You brightened up everyone’s day
Then I heard the news and now have the blues
You’ve left us and flown away.

A good friend is rare now, I stop and stare
And reminisce the times we’ll miss
None of us know the way the winds blow
And the moments we count as bliss.

I know that your care is somewhere up there
And that you’ll shower us with your love
You gave and you gave and now in your grave
You’ve ascended up above.

Life is so fragile and fickle
And we think it will never end
Though like the branches in the trees
Some snap after they bend.

I always enjoyed our conversation
So, I sat down to say one more time
Even though you’ve flown away
I send you this message in rhyme.

The words will still flow, and I will know
Each time you beckon me near
I will always be listening
I’ll hear you loud and clear.

I hope that the breeze the birds and the clouds
Will float past your eyes in peace
Though you’re not here I feel you near
That feeling will never cease.

©

David Rudder
5th April 2022

Thanks for reading.

With love always and to your grieving family dear,

Cynthia Phillips.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you a wonderful platform to publish and earn from your own poetry, photographs, and stories on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.