Disappeared

Like a morning mist.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

I opened my eyes to a new day
And soon, I left the dream
It was clear, and then suddenly
I completely cleared the screen.

I have an uneasy feeling
The ingredients I can’t find
Have they been misplaced from this space?
I used to think it was my mind.

I search and try to remember.
Bizarre images flash before my eyes.
Are they mislaid or cut by a blade?
You have seen through my disguise.

It’s time to wash the uncertainty.
Lookout and drink in the new day
The longer I ponder and let my mind wander
The thought lingers and won’t go away.

It’s unlike mislaying the car keys
More like a transient thought forgotten
An idea I had that floated away
Before it was, begotten.

I step away from the edge of the ledge
I’m in transit with no place to go
Around the corner, I glimpse eternity
And maybe answers I’m longing to know.

I think I mislaid plans I’d made
Then disappeared like a morning mist
Into the garden of pardon
Those I know I’ll never miss.

I’ll discard what I can’t remember
And dissolve, not solve lost memories
And walk into the blue of a new day
With optimism and new reveries.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.