Four Letter

Love.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

--

Photo by Anastasia Sklyar on Unsplash

Jamb the finger hit the thumb
And expletives find expressions
In torrents of four-letter words
This phrase has connotations.

If I say I love you
And whisper in your ear
Is that a new four-letter word?
That you’d like to hear.

Love is the four-letter word
That can get the pulses running
And can be more unnerving
Than a basket, full of cunning.

Lead me up the garden path
Is this the place called Eden
Am I all right dressed in this leaf
Is this all I’ll be needing?

I don’t favour bad language
But this I’ve got to say
I’ll tell you that I love you
Even though you are away.

So, I’m sure you will forgive me
For increasing my vocabulary
And using a four-letter word
Don’t call the constabulary.

Stay safe and travel smoothly
Meet more love upon the way
And when you come back home my love
You’re bound to make my day.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.