I Write

To find

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

--

Photo by Vlad Hilitanu on Unsplash

I write at night, and despite
From what I’ve seen and heard
I sit here with my ear cocked
And listen for the morning bird.

It may be a warble or a whisper
The sounds seep into my psyche
And herald a new morning
That is when I start to write.

I write to find what is in my mind
Then sing it like a psalm
A place to face the meaning
In rhymes and plaintive alms.

And then I read to place the seed
And watch my learning grow
With new words that I have heard
From the seeds they sow.

In and out of avenues
The side tracks of my mind
Picking up the pieces
Of some left behind.

I walk and talk to you, and who
Filters past my face
Then hold your head in my hands
And taste the sweet embrace.

I write to find the reason
I write from dreams at night
Angels that come creeping
Past my seventh sight.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.