Jan Sebastian Wonder Woman

Accolades

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readDec 15, 2022

--

Photograph with permission from Jan Sebastian

In April 2022, I posted a poem and tribute to our amazing Jan Sebastian, the $500 a Month Medium Chic.

Jan is why I and many others find joy, information, grit, and love on the Medium platform.

Below is a rehash of the original article and poem.

Jan is MEDIUM and embodies the generosity of spirit and great mind that inspires us all to do better.

Join me and thank our amazing Wonder Woman…

Jan Sebastian.

I fill most days with fortitude,
One step at a time,
A part of my existence,
And then write it down in rhyme.

I like to think rather than sink,
I stand up and prevail,
It’s not about winning,
It’s the seas I sail.

Sometimes it is stormy,
Then there is a fairer breeze,
The wind is at my back,
And filters through the trees

It’s all about companionship,
The love that’s in my heart,
And the will to prevail,
And make a new start.

Slowly I am sailing,
Across the peaks and troughs,
Dancing through white horses,
Past their neighs and coughs.

I sigh sometimes and soften,
And chance each circumstance,
And when my spirits lift,
My feet move to the dance.

I prevail where others fail,
To my strict regime,
And furnish the opportunity,
Then scrutinise the scene.

Ask me if it’s only,
The moods that shift and sail,
It’s living in the moment,
It helps me to prevail.

And then I think it’s time to drink.
And to taste my haste.
And to see the difference.
And know where the truth is placed.

I yearn to learn and discern
The lives that others lead
And open my eyes so I can see
The words I’ve heard and read.

There is one writer, no one brighter.
We have a wonderful woman here.
Her name is Jan Sebastian.
And it is crystal clear.

She had a stroke, and the last words she spoke.
Before being pronounced dead
It took her son to back her life.
And bring her back instead.

Talk about prevailing
I feel like a snail
She’s brave and bold in the cold.
And when you read her tale.

Like me, you’ll be astounded.
Her humour, charm, and wit
It is a testimony of courage.
Every little bit

Thank you, Jan, for permission to use

Thank you, Jan Sebastian,
With every word you write
I learn something different.
Your words are pure delight.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.