My Delight

A little light.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Photograph by Author.

In the dawn, I stretch and yawn,
and amble down my stairs,
whilst out in the darkness,
others sleep within their lairs.

I guess I am a creature,
of habit, that is true,
and I need a little light,
to brighten up the hue.

In the dark without a spark,
no inkling and in spite,
sending out some emails,
I wait for the first bite.

I dream of other places,
situations and tonight,
I look into my rambling mind,
to shed a little light.

Way out there beyond the glare,
on carpets of green fields,
little lambs in Instagram’s,
is what the wide world yields.

Reaching out to the sky,
the rivers, hills, and dales,
mist is bliss in summertime,
nature’s mystery inveigles.

My delight, a little light,
a flicker that sustains,
and a lick of moisture,
from the summer rains.

Way past streets of scenery,
stretch horizons out of sight,
and all I ask is to bask,
is for a little light.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.