Never Academic

Not a scholar.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readMay 20, 2023

--

Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

It may be information
that I’ve read in a book
or a glance that’s askance
even a second look.

I never was a scholar
I couldn’t stand the heat
or the concentration
freedom was far too sweet.

I’d rather be away from rooms
where class and scholars sat
a place in the great outdoors
where I could chew the fat.

I based my education
on the birds and bees
and the exploration of
calm rivers, lakes and seas.

I flew to the blue yonder
and left academia behind
looking for a better place
to soothe the savage mind.

Nothing’s really differed
very little’s changed
if I’d been an academic
I may be more deranged.

It’s purely academic
to guess what else would be
if I’d studied and stayed put
instead of being free.

I relish every moment
and now it’s twilight time
I move to the music
and write it down in rhyme.

©

David Rudder
2012

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.