Night Display

Deep purple.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readJan 12, 2022

--

Photograph by Author.

In between the black and white
And shades that make the day
Through to the deep purple
And dark blues of the night display.

I watch the colours shine and fade
Then disappear at night
And in the morning grow again
In splendour and delight.

The friends I have are different hues
And most glow in the dark
Other’s hues of bird’s feathers
The magpie and the lark.

Beneath the rainforest’s canopy
Light stretches in blue ribbons
And paints the forest floor
Lies still and quietly glisten.

Your eyes echo colours of the sea
Your moods like squally storms
The salty tang of the sea air
Your hands hold lightning forms.

I’ve seen the shades disintegrate
Then reborn in different hues
Throughout the total spectrum
They always change to blues.

I watched the storm far out at sea
And know that you are near
I can even hear you whispering
Sweet nothings in my ear.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.