Sleet Snow and Sheep

New Zealand Trip

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readAug 1, 2022

--

Photo by Author October 2013. The road to the west coast was closed with ice and snow.

New Zealanders have one conversation.
And it’s usually about the weather.
There’s a mutter of the earthquake too
Then there’s sheep out in the nether.

They’ve never heard of springtime.
Or temperatures recorded over zero
And if you reach your destination
They reckon you’re a bloody hero.

Who’s ever heard of snow and ice
And road closures in October
In Ozzie mate, it’s near thirty-two
And I’ll gladly testify I’m sober.

So, there’s no road to the West Coast
That’s clear or free of snow
And if you ask a kiwi mate
They say they don’t know.

We’re looking for a plan B
C or D seems a bit closer
The forecast is for rain rain rain
The whole trips become a poser.

So, where the hell is Lake Tekapo
Is that today’s destination
The rain falls in icy sheets
Adds to stress and consternation

I bought a little fluffy lamb.
To help me get to sleep.
But forgot I was in the shaky isles
and spent all night counting sheep

Today is yesterday’s tomorrow.
And the rain still falls in buckets
If I don’t reach my destination today
I could cause a bloody ruckus

©

David Rudder
October 2013

Thanks for reading.

Click below for unlimited access to all Medium stories and poems for less than US $1/week.

Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.