Step Across

The invisible line.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readMay 22, 2023

--

Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

Across the Bay, you’ll later say
You saw the love light burning
Between the mists, your lips, I kissed
And my heart continued yearning.

The waters stretch from east to west
You always keep your green light on
In the night, though and despite
I feel your presence in the yon.

I built a castle in testimony
To our love, nothing ever was spared
The clouds and mist and lightning
Mere distractions if I dared.

To step across the invisible line
And coalesce in harmony
To walk at night through the green light
To dance to our special rhapsody.

Mystery always surrounded me
My obsessions denoted my name
Most people call me Gatsby
I carry the name with no shame.

Our love was higher than mountains
Or the Bay that spread us apart
I always loved you and desired
The passion came from my heart.

As I sink and slowly die
The blood seeps through my fingers
Across the Bay, the green light dims
And our love always lingers

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.