The Australian Outback

Where me and nature meet.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
2 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Photograph by Author.

It’s called the Australian outback
Black Springs, or the road out to Jerrong
a ride across the Abercrombie River
after rain, where things can easily, go wrong.

There’s water on the road, at the crossing
snow and ice, have brought some branches down
the car slips and slides, on the dirt road
I feel new conditions and wear a frown.

There are wallabies, roo and wombats too
some lie dead on the side of the track
from an encounter, with fast-moving metal
for these animals, there’s no coming back.

Here in the region of the great divide
hills surround the horizon
there’s some green pasture, down in the valley
where wallabies graze between winter chills.

The wild country is next door to nowhere
there’s no habitat, as far as the eye can see
it’s a dirt road for miles and miles
and one helluva long way, to the sea.

There’s a treat for sore eyes, in wild country
the stars burst with light every night
it’s elemental, basic, and fundamental
yet it fills my heart, with pure delight.

There’s the crackle of the wood fire burning
the crunch of leaves beneath my feet
and the smell of scented eucalyptus
a place where me and nature meet.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.