The Dance of Chance

Coincidental?

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readJul 20, 2024

--

Sue and I at my 80th Birthday Party last year.

Flukes of fortuity
Incremental odds
Dance of chances
Managed by the gods.

Conjuncts incongruence
Seconds split asunder
Meeting up in Medlow Bath
In the land down under.

Out of the blue appearing
And calling out my name
From the brother of my mother
We almost look the same.

Is it true that the view?
Drew us to this destination
Or pure coincidence
Is the real explanation.

The mystery of meeting
What does it really mean?
Selection by our spirits
Or something in between.

Here one minute gone the next
When will we meet again?
Serendipitous moments
They are never done in vain.

You saw me, Sue, I saw you
Instant recognition
Is it purely a coincidence?
Coupled to cognition.

©

David Rudder
2015

A true story and a chance meeting with my cousin Sue, in a café and art gallery in Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Then 9 years elapsed since we both met again!

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.