The Locket

Of heartaches.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readJun 22, 2024

--

Photo by Lucas Santos on Unsplash

The avenue of heartaches
Cathedrals of memories
The wind rustles and awakes
Leaves of a bygone breeze.

Someone lost along the way
A friend brother or lover
Time erodes and takes away
One heart after another.

Counting out on fingers
Now weathered old and worn
Recalling times still lingers
Reminisces are reborn.

Stark thoughts still remembered
Heartaches of times afore
Splintered and dismembered
Withdrawn from the store.

The heart pumps and falters
Lifeblood courses through the veins
The impression often alters
Washed by wild storms and rains.

Deep rivers of destinies
Flow fast before my eyes
Washing up forgotten entities
Heartaches hidden in disguise.

Surfaced in the night
Seen clearly in the day
Recognised and set alight
Too vivid to turn away.

Heartaches kept in lockets
Welded memories in my mind
Held inside my pockets
Sometimes too deep to find.

© David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.