The Mist

Of destiny.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by Hannah Tims on Unsplash

A mist passed by my window
Was it the total eclipse of the moon
A prescience unseen in Shinto
Or a magical message in a Rune.

Was it the mist of destiny
A presage and omen half hidden
Or a gift unseen sent to me
Of fruit that’s now forbidden.

Cool zephyrs joined the mist
Soft as a feather on my face
Dew on the grass in a meadow
Whims and thoughts that interlace.

Drifting on a mysterious dream
Shadow’s turning mauve like heather
Collected and floating away downstream
A change in the weather.

The eclipse fades and passes
New light brightens the surrounds
Transforming and surpassing
Emerging lustre knowing no bounds.

Amid a lightning storm
Rolling thunder calls my name
Electrical waves renew and reform
Igniting my soul and kindling the flame.

Shadows lengthen in the morn and eve
Night’s silky coat shadows the sky
Stay here with me and never leave
Till I kiss this day goodbye.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.