The Time to Listen

Nature.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Photograph by Author.

Thoughts that ought to wander,
refreshed in my mind,
in this land down under,
I can’t leave behind.

Events that I remember,
when I was very young,
the smell, sense, and satisfaction,
the taste upon my tongue.

The mint of magic moments,
sand under my feet,
and ripples on the water,
thoughts so hard to beat.

Kept then swept and brushed away,
and then in the latter days,
like bubbles they resurface,
in many different ways.

Places where the pleasure,
pacifies the pain,
moments that amazed me,
join me once again.

And I’m refreshed and the stress,
falls like winter rain,
and disappears with the fears,
in a sweet refrain.

Tapping softly in the morn,
upon the windowsill,
whilst I am here safe and warm,
free from the morning chill.

Refreshed and purged and pacified,
submission to the frisson,
and aware that love is rare,
and now’s the time to listen.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.