Waking

In another world.

David Rudder
daylightnightlite
1 min readJun 30, 2023

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Interspersed imaginations
Whirl inside my head
Sometimes they weigh me down
Like balloons made of lead.

I think of the alternates
Places I’d rather be
Like travelling up north
Or swimming in the sea.

Interrupted interludes
Disturbed by surgery
And to tell the real truth
Maybe perjury.

One thing or another
Life swings and oscillates
Where’s the ice it would be nice
To own a pair of skates.

As time draws closer
And imminence is a fact
There’s no use pretending
It was all an act.

Swathed in a white gown
White lights and them in masks
Drifting into anaesthesia
Whilst they perform their tasks.

Waking in another world
Attached to instruments
Staring at the ceiling
Constructing lost moments.

In between the trepidation
And when it’s a done deal
Alternates always multiply
And life can seem unreal.

©

David Rudder
2014

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
daylightnightlite

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.