The Block-maker

And the immersing act of creation.

Sandeep Sekhar
DBKA
3 min readJul 10, 2018

--

The Block-maker for DBKA, APE-VII

I often find myself submerged in the world of DIY-driven YouTube channels of people building something out of scratch or modifying a manufactured product to their aesthetics-like this guy, who spends months and enough dollars just to have a headphone jack in his iPhone or this channel dedicated to customizing hot wheels cars. That’s not all. There are painters, carpenters, weavers, model builders and of-course, everybody has their own go-to cooking channel.

On the outside, the world of content creators sure is quite loud with constant appeals for subscriptions and the want of eye-balls, but if you strip away the noise and submerge yourself in the content, you’ll find, at its core, people loving what they do while the world goes silent around them.

With this in mind, when it was time for the quarterly DBKA — Art print exchange meetup on the topic of Silence, I wanted to pay homage to the wonderful world of content creators and the silence they embrace.

For the process, I began with a digital sketch — zeroing on the layout.

Quick blocking in Photoshop.

Once I had a good idea of final product, I started sketching on paper.

Two of the sketches done on A3 sheets. The right sketch was then scanned

I then scanned the pencil-sketch and started the cleanup and coloring process.

In terms of execution, this was a pretty straightforward style of minimal painting over a sketch. Looking back, it may seem like the process was executed with a lot of clarity on the end product, however that wasn’t the case. The same is true for most pet projects that I’ve taken on. It often takes starting on the execution to build clarity on the end product. What is presented here is culmination of a lot of drafts and ideas that were attempted over a period of a few months-give or take.

In the end, I would change a few aspects if I were to reattempt this, but then again, maybe this will always remain a work-in-progress and I am happy with that.

You can find the higher resolution on my blog.

You can read more about the meet and other submissions on the Facebook page.

Hope you find your silence!

--

--