About Us

We are students with backgrounds in Global Health at the VU Amsterdam. Our aim is, while following a course on Double Burden of Disease, to provide insight into the interconnected health challenges of the East African region.

Niklas Frieler
dbod-eastafrica
3 min readNov 3, 2020

--

Hey, I’m Badi and I’m 23 years old. I don’t have all that many flattering pictures of myself, but I try to make up for it with personality. I love to skate, drink coffee and study anthropology. This semester I’ve decided to take the minor in Global Health. With this blog I’d love to give an informative overview about disease burdens in the geographical East African contexts. If you have any questions please do ask, can’t guarantee i’ll have the answer, but I like to have a full mailbox and chat. Either way, I do hope you stick around and feel engaged.
badiflorestan@gmail.com

Hi, I am Naomi! I am 20 years old, currently studying health sciences. I like to be creative, right now I am working on knitting a sweater but I like all kinds of art. I am really interested in health and I have learned a lot about health in the Netherlands and diseases that occur in our country. I chose the minor Global Health because I am interested in the differences in health between countries, and why certain diseases occur in one country but not (anymore) in another country. How can we prevent certain diseases and how is this prevention needed different in different countries? With this blog I hope to give more insights in the disease burden in East Africa. If you have any questions or comments that you want to address directly to me, you can e-mail me at: naomivanselm@gmail.com.

Hi there, my name is Sophie and I am 23 years old. Currently I am taking lessons for the minor Global Health, which is one of my favourite subjects besides International Public Health and Nutrition and Health. In my spare time I like to go to the gym and I spend a lot of time on nutrition and being health conscious. On the other hand, I really like to go out to have some nice food and drinks with my friends a couple of times a week. Life is all about balance, right? During my vacation days I really like to travel and experience the beauty of all different areas in the world. Maybe that is where my interest in the differences worldwide from a health perspective began. In this blog, we can hopefully provide you with some more knowledge about the disease burdens of a specific area; East Africa. If there is anything you would like to ask, do not hesitate to contact me: sophiefvisser@gmail.com.

Hey, my name is Sophia! I’m 21 years old and currently working on a degree in Health Promotion at the University of Georgia. While I’m in Amsterdam I’ll be completing a good deal of the Global Health minor, which is pretty similar to my coursework from home. Global health challenges became an interest of mine when I took a trip to South Africa a few years back, and learned a bit about some of the public health initiatives involving the township communities. I’d like to continue learning about the health burdens in Africa, particularly those of East Africa, and what is being done in response. Through this blog I hope that we can learn together! Feel free to email me at sophiaeli98@gmail.com with any questions at all.

--

--