Enterprise design team shares their plans for 2021

Sarah Wee
DBS Design
Published in
6 min readMar 5, 2021

--

Hello, we are the DBS Enterprise Design Team

At DBS, we take great care to design from the inside out. This means agonising over many of the internal tools, systems and processes we use.

Becoming the “Best Bank in the World” doesn’t just mean joyful banking for our customers. We think it’s important to care about how we work in the bank too. Enterprise design does exactly that—designing for an organisation and the people inside.

Our team has been around since June 2019, and has grown steadily since. Let us tell how we design for one of our own, our goals for 2021, and what we want to achieve this year.

ps. A huge thanks to Denys Kutsevalov for the wonderful mugsh.. I mean profile photos.

Angela Thng, Product Designer for FoW & HR

Together with the Future of Work and Human Resources team, I design joyful employee journeys that prepares us to be a future-ready workforce. These experiences empower employees to work better, learn more, and grow professionally.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

With the post-pandemic norm, we want to connect employees, boost productivity and grow their careers at DBS. I’m super excited to apply design thinking and co-create inspiring journeys with employees. Being a designer on the Enterprise team lets me talk to our users any time for useful insights.

🎯My personal goals

This year, I want to set aside more time for myself — do more reading, doodling, and experiment with humor through 2D animation. Also, I love my iPad Pro.

Adeline Lam, Product Designer for LCSA

I build products that help analysts manage legal, regulatory and financial crimes. My days vary, but definitely lots of conversations and workshops to understand user needs, review designs and gather feedback.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

As more people transact online, online frauds and money laundering offenses are on the rise. An important goal for the Legal, Compliance, Secretariat, and Audit team is to improve fraud detection and alerts. We want to make it easy for users to quickly distill data and catch the bad guys.

🎯My personal goals

Family. Health. Peace. Finding my ikigai (purpose in life). 2020 has taught me to be strong, and to embrace discomfort. I am thankful to be doing what I love. And oh, perhaps I’ll learn a new language too!

Ron Lin, Product Designer for Finance

I am designing a system for resource budgeting, financial forecasting and portfolio management.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

We want to standardise how financial forecasting is done, so that data can be consolidated and calculated automatically. To make budgeting simpler, we will introduce ways to eliminate excel sheets and multiple systems, so that everything is accessible on one system.

🎯My personal goals

Covid-19 has made me somewhat of a couch potato, so I am going to make full use of my time this year. This means reading up on UX topics to get better at what I do, eat healthy (no more snacking), and get sufficient rest to get through my very packed schedule each week.

Emily Wong, Product Designer for T&M

I design cutting-edge, data-driven platforms that make banking and investment more efficient. These are used by branch tellers, traders, sales dealers and different operations teams in the bank.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

I want my team to take a step back and reimagine what we’ve done so far. The goal is to optimise and simplify tools and services for Treasury & Markets, and add personal touches so that our users will have a more intuitive and stress-free experience.

🎯My personal goals

The pandemic has certainly taught me about the importance of self-improvement and resilience. I’m constantly improving myself to prepare for the challenges ahead. This year, I want to step out and learn a new skill and lean into my leadership role.

Sidhartha Nandan, Product Designer for Risk

I work with relationship managers, credit risk managers and other banking units to digitise the credit lending process.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

Our team wants to bridge the gap between when a loan is approved, and when the client receives the money. Right now, the platform caters to only large corporations. We want to extend the same capabilities to small to mid-sized enterprises too.

🎯My personal goals

I want to be more active in the design community, mentor aspiring designers and help them understand what it is like to work in startups and large design teams. Oh, and to get into the habit of reading and listening to podcasts about design and business.

Ruoxi Li, Product Designer for Design Standards

I am the gatekeeper of the Enterprise design language system. Together with designers and content writers, we set guidelines for reusable components, onboard teams to design tools, and improve the way we work.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

My team aims to build a best-in-class design system for enterprise platforms (there aren’t many out there). Now that the basic components are ready, we will map out common use cases across various systems and find patterns to improve design consistency and reusability.

🎯My personal goals

Spending time at home has helped me get back into the habit of taking photographs. I’ve also picked up portrait sketching! In addition to finding that sweet spot in work and leisure, I plan to get out and interact more, especially with my coworkers.

Xintian Zhang, Design Researcher for Enterprise

My role is to help teams figure out their design goals and user needs. This includes everything from alignment workshops, to fundamental research and usability sessions. I also look at ways to improve research practices for enterprise design.

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

I want to deliver truly user-centric experiences through testing and fine-tuning designs, and building a robust research toolkit. Helping the team to gain clarity and alignment is part of my job too. It’s fun when I uncover shared values through listening and empathising with our stakeholders.

🎯My personal goals

Definitely bring more user voices onto the table, maybe even banging the table if needed! 😂 I will continue on my self-exploration journey through reading, meditation, Akido and improvisation performances.

Sarah Wee, Content Designer for Enterprise

I use words to design Enterprise projects—how content is structured (information architecture), presented (user experience design) and written (everything you see on the screen).

✨Looking ahead in 2021✨

This year, I want to work towards changing the perception that enterprise systems are boring, complex and “not glamorous”. Hopefully, those who use our products will find them to be as delightful as their favourite apps.

🎯My personal goals

Eat healthy, pick up a sport, and learn to edit videos. Wannabe YouTuber, anyone?

Yay, you’ve made it to the end! Work can be joyful with enterprise design. Happy employees = happy customers, right? Clap along if you agree~ 👏👏

Check us out over at DBS Design!

--

--