Adjusting to a new season

Tracy Emery
Durham Community Action Writers
1 min readNov 3, 2023

This week saw the clocks change and the dark nights descend upon us.

This isn’t my favourite time of year so I have to dig a bit deeper to stay positive but working with such a wide range of organisations keeps me on my toes and focussed on my work which is a big help.

This week I started some project planning for the second year of the Warm Spaces project, now known as Welcome Spaces.

This a county wide project that allows community spaces to support people in their local community. It brings people together for a cuppa and an activity with a small grant to help pay for some activities and cover their own utility bills.

I’ve been asked to be a contact for those organisations who receive a grant and introduce them to DCA and the advice and support we can offer.

It’s nice to have a project to plan for and to work on, and I really enjoy engaging with new people. I also enjoy a good spreadsheet so its a win win!!

I’ve also had some interesting conversations this week, including a centre manager who’s centre has experienced some difficult times in the past. She was proud to share that these issues are now in the past, they’ve learnt some valuable lessons and are now ready to move forward with a community centre that is thriving. I’m looking forward to working with them in this new phase of their development.

--

--