Always moving forward…

Tara Hallimond
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readNov 10, 2023

We start our week with our huddle, a chance to share our plans with the team and talk about something interesting. Apparently, I was very upbeat this week, but I genuinely was looking forward to the week ahead. The reason for this is because I am working on content (which is my favourite part of training) and I have some personal learning planned in too.

Despite the fact that our community workshop courses have been running for a good few years now, the content never stays the same and it’s really important that our content is up to date and relevant. Our community engagement course is a good example of a workshop that is ever changing and being updated.

Although my role is to create the content, consider learning styles and ensuring development of the learners, none of this would be possible without our brilliant community development officers who help me to bring this training to life with examples of how they have supported groups to a successful end. This week we have been updating the community engagement workshop with a Q&A session built in to share real life experience of how to tackle this topic. Susan has recently done some engagement with the cree network to evaluate the benefits of the service. I thought this would be a great example to share in the training.

We’ve come up with some questions I can ask Susan in the session which will help explain the process she went through to complete a community engagement activity. The research, the methods and approach was considered and tested with a brilliant end result so we thought this would be great to share.

I am always nervous with a new session or activity, especially when we have 40 booked on but I am confident this new addition to the workshop will really bring value… I will let you know how it goes next week.

Always keen to keep training relevant I also attended a catalyst webinar about Artifiicial Intelligence within the voluntary sector, although AI does fill me with fear I know it is something worth considering for the future of our training and so now I am on the look out for more webinars or training on AI in the future.

Now it’s time to reflect and question, did that upbeat optimism follow through the rest of the week? Yes, I’ve really enjoyed this week.

--

--