Back from holiday, getting ready for next year!!

Sue Garrett
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readNov 10, 2023

Came back from a few days away. Felt good and ready to work. Think I needed the break.

When the clocks go back you know it’s time to start planning next year. Dates to decide upon for networks and events. When dates are decided, venues to and speakers to book. Need to really look at dates as to help with spread of workload through the following year. Its funny you book a date and never really think about the knock-on effect to the rest of the team. Their workload increases too. But dates sorted hopefully, but may need to change, that’s another storey!!

You sometimes wonder if your work makes a difference when working with the public sector for example TEWV, I am of course talking about Mental Health Transformation. Attended two Steering Groups this week and thought WHY. But then someone says ‘Thank you’ for your efforts and getting me involved. It makes a difference.

When we drive to and from work and places in between we never know how the bus strike can impact on our work. For example, the speaker for the SPLW Network was late and I was thinking oh dear have I messed up with timings/dates. No, the speaker was traveling on the bus and had to walk a good way as the bus she had to get didn’t go passed the venue. If I had known would have picked her up. Did drop her off though.

SPLW’s are always a happy bunch and appreciate your support.

I’ve just looked at my calendar for next week, BUSY.

--

--