Back in the driving seat…adventures ahead!

Lyndsey Hocking
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readJan 12, 2024

Many of you are aware 2023 was a pretty bumpy ride for me personally, I was graced with the best start to the New Year 2024 when on the 1st January my official divorce arrived in my inbox! yipee…. you can now call me Lyndsey Vickers :)

As you may already know about me, I am a positive person and will not be defeated for long therefore I do not wish to dwell on the ugly side of 2023 but to say a massive THANK YOU to all of DCA for sticking with me, listening to my rants, being a shoulder to cry on and the endless support from you all!

The first Monday at work in 2024 may have landed me some car trouble but that will not deter me from getting back in the driving seat and being the master of my own destiny! What adventures and new challenges are in store both work and personally i cant wait to find out and get started…..

Work adventures start with a project visit to Trimdon Community Garden, greeted by a Robin and a Rainbow what better omen, a lovely visit to a garden with so much potential for the local community, followed by further meetings in the week to discuss how we can support a localised community growing project in the Derwent Valley area, the enthusiasm and drive of community organisations and their supporters never ceases to amaze me!

--

--