Choo Choo…is there a train coming!

Lyndsey Hocking
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readOct 20, 2023

I've been at DCA now for 2 years and still have to remind myself about the ever varying work pace compared to my old role on the frontline firefighting complex cases. It feels like a train is the only way I can describe it…. new projects and pieces of work take lots of front end energy and effort to get started, then they build momentum and its steady away for a while, linking to different areas of work within DCA as the carriages of the train, being a conductor of your own work to stay on track and having clear direction to reach your final destination…or maybe like more DCA projects its just a rest stop before the next link joins and off we go again!

I guess the reason why I have had some time to think about this week as I feel my train has come into the station and it is time to reflect on where it has been and what is the next destination. At first this felt uneasy and from weeks of jumping from one event, project or piece of work to another to then have minimal events and time to stop and think about where I have been and where I am going next with my work! Time to do some exploring of the destination, reading, research and building back up to the next journey!

Sticking with the train theme of course, the main event I supported the DCA team with this week was the Volunteer Co-ordinators Forum at Locomotion, a fantastic venue and great attendance, always a pleasure and enjoyment to represent DCA and as always chance to TALK (my favourite pastime) to many of the people we regularly work with and also make new contacts and connections.

A week in the station…..destination unknown!

--

--