Stop, take a breath and try not to fall

Lyndsey Hocking
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readJan 19, 2024

I am absolutely guilty of filling my time with too many things and giving myself unrealistic amounts of tasks to complete in superhuman time! This unhealthy strategy brought me quite literally crashing down on Monday when dashing back home from the school run to a quick turn around before swimming lessons for the children commenced, I tripped and fell.

Leaving the incident with bruised pride and some cuts, scrapes and a sore shoulder my 8 year old patched me up with a plaster and a hug and telling me “Mam your not supposed to fall over” …. darling even mam’s are not invincible.

Quickly forgotten but the ouchy hands and sore shoulder remained I headed back into rushing around on Tuesday morning, fighting the frost on the car and navigating school activities and grumpy cold children…. but then I saw this ….

I knew it was time to pause and take a breath, I pulled over and watched the sunrise for 5 mins……

… then onwards to work. Taking just a small amount of time for myself meant I arrived at the office calm and with a clear mind ready to focus and start my day, the day ran smoothly and my wellbeing felt restored.

--

--