The good, the bad and the what’s to come

Craig Hampton
Durham Community Action Writers
1 min readJan 26, 2024

This week has been a productive and rewarding one for me, as I have been connecting with new organisations and supporting existing ones in various ways. Here are some highlights of the week:

The good

I had a great meeting with a men’s mental health group called The Head Shed, who are doing amazing work to support men in Durham who are struggling with their mental health. They shared their stories, challenges, and aspirations with me, and I was impressed by their resilience and passion. I offered them some advice on registering to become a charity and how to access funding.

I also had a busy week of providing support to community organisations on various topics, such as governance and finance.

I made some progress on the development of the Community Building Energy Efficiency Grant, which is a new initiative to help community buildings reduce their energy consumption and carbon footprint.

The bad

The only downside of the week was that my car broke down again and had to be taken to the garage which was a problem I could have done without.

The what’s to come

Next week is another busy week for me, as I have a lot of meetings and visits planned with new and existing organisations. I am looking forward to meeting them and learning more about their work, needs, and goals and has DCA are able to support them.

--

--