This week has been a mixed bag!

Tracy Emery
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readOct 20, 2023

I seem to have spent a lot of time on the phone dealing with a range of enquiries and I even managed a face-to-face meeting in Weardale!

Face to face meetings is great, especially when it’s a new group and they have lots of questions, as being there in person seems to offer more reassurance and people seem to feel more comfortable to ask questions.

This particular meeting was arranged by another organisation who works in the area, who also attended the meeting.

There were 3 of us in attendance, talking to a group about formalising the group in order to development their ideas further and attract funding.

It was too many people!!

I also had to correct the information given by one of those who attended with me, which probably wasn’t a great look to the group we were there to help.

I felt confident in what I was saying and said it in a way that they understood and made sure they knew how to contact me after the meeting if they had any further questions, which they have already done. It all turned out well in the end.

Working with partners is so valuable, but on this occasion, I didn’t feel it made the right impression.

On Wednesday we also tried to get to grips with the CRM! Although the IT let us down, it was useful to all be together and talk about how we add information and what that information is used for. It felt like we’d opened a can of worms as we all seem to use it differently, but now we have a clearer understanding, I’m sure going forward we can make better use of it as we all appreciate the value of the information we add.

Overall it’s been a good week with lots of variety and feeling like I’ve made a difference is never a bad thing.

--

--