Kate Burrows
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readSep 22, 2023

--

Photo by Sonja Langford on Unsplash

What a week…the good the bad and the interesting!

Yaaay! Got an EOI completed in super fast time

So, the beginning of a hectic week and panic begins to set in, but at the very end of the first day of the week…success! Given the pressures of time, holidays and the very short deadline, I dedicated an afternoon to submitting an expression of interest for a project which felt like an uncomfortably short space of time given the other pressures I was facing!

I started the work as I waited for a new tyre to be fixed on my car (nice coffee at the garage) and so had ‘outlined’ before driving home in the sun with the hood down (lovely).

The outline focused the mind.

…as did the space to think ‘without thinking’ on the drive home…

Returning to my desk sometime later, I had no time to procrastinate. I needed to get the thing written by the late afternoon deadline. This really got my mind in gear and I drafted a really sound social value statement (even if I say so myself!).

At 4.58pm the task was complete, and I pressed send. No steam left in the tank for anymore work…I shut my laptop and took time in the garden before moving into family life for the evening feeling a sense of achievement. It also felt great to have bought some time back for myself.

Did I carry the benefits into the next day…?

Unsurprisingly, I reread the EOI (mistake) and began to worry about how we might be judged for the submission! Would it look rubbish? Had I missed every point? I managed to put these thoughts out of my mind as the list of things left undone the day before started to creep in.

I then spent too much time ‘tidying up’ my email inbox (I hadn’t had time to take my usual approach to clearing as I go) and the clear up took forever leaving me thinking, should I really be spending my time doing this every day…is my endless need to have a ‘clear desk’ actually helpful?

…but the following day inspiration hit again!

By investing time in reading some really interesting national infrastructure info and spending time in meetings to hear about some new initiatives, I’m once again buzzing with new ideas and really have been inspired…I think freeing myself from my internal thought pressures has helped let a bit of sunshine in!

Who knows what will happen next week?

--

--