Kate Burrows
Durham Community Action Writers
2 min readSep 29, 2023

--

Photo by Manasvita S on Unsplash

Wow, what a busy, challenging and rewarding week…again!

On a Monday evening I always feel that I’m never going to get to the end of the week with any sense of achievement; the tasks on the list…not including the developments I want to make…seem insurmountable. But as is ever thus, I’m here, it’s Friday and the week has whizzed by with challenges faced, successes made, and inspiration banked!

The ongoing challenge for me is always time management…how can I better organise things so that I don’t feel like I’m spread so thinly across the many themes and endeavours we aim to inform, influence and amplify? When I crack this…pies may well and truly be in the sky, but the drive to do better holds firm! And beginning the week sitting at another county partnership table at which we can firmly ground the voice of the VCSE (in the best way we possibly can) felt great.

By mid-week the ever-refreshing time spent with our whole team brought some sanctuary. As we reflected on our recent stakeholder survey we struggled to ‘own’ the praise and drilled straight into the areas for improvement…but collectively we should take pride in our successes. The shared insight and reflection on our vision and purpose helped ground me. It’s a true wonder to observe the focus, connection and efficiency with which our team works.

I’m never surprised and always enlightened when I meet with colleagues who are applying their immeasurable brain power to tackle the issues our communities face; and this week it’s been a joy to meet with several folks keen to work in partnership with DCA as we all respond to challenges ahead of us. The sparks of innovation, entrepreneurship and true collaboration are indeed inspiring.

And talk about inspiring through challenge…our small band of colleagues who are currently (on behalf of us all) taking the daily pain of IT developments with immeasurable patience and grace, are truly gems!

--

--