Career mama at DCG, and loving it!

Jill Alarcon
DCG Life
Published in
3 min readFeb 24, 2020

In October 2016 I received a new title, “Mom,” and my world changed completely. My daughter, Luciana, is now nearly three-and-a-half years old. We were fortunate to expand our family and in September 2019, welcomed our second daughter, Anabel, into the world. I joined DCG in June of 2017 as the company’s first HR Director, when Luciana was eight months old. She had only been sleeping through the night consistently for a month and I was recovering from sleep deprivation. Prior to joining DCG I commuted anywhere from 1–2 hours each way, 4–5 days a week running on very little sleep, and saw my daughter just for a short few minutes before daycare drop off or in the evening for her bedtime routine.

Joining DCG

I discovered DCG, in the middle of the night while up with Luciana, through a networking group on Facebook. With each conversation during the interview process, I became more and more impressed, not just with what DCG had built in seven years, but with the incredibly talented, energetic and approachable team members I had the opportunity to speak with. I joined the firm without hesitation and haven’t looked back!

DCG is a unique organization. For much of our history, we were a virtual company. As we grew past the 30-person mark, it no longer made sense to hold meetings in a colleague’s apartment building or the local coffee shop. Eventually DCG secured office space at the WeWork Metropolitan Square, in the heart of D.C. Our team of now more than 80 full-time employees is a mix of employees working from home, on client-site and at WeWork.

Full-time mom, Full-time DCGer

Life as a full-time working mom at DCG has provided me with the support and flexibility I didn’t know was possible. I’m able to spend mornings with my daughters, eating breakfast together, reading books and dropping them off at preschool and daycare, without the pressure of having to constantly stress if I’ll make it to work on time. I am home (most days) for dinner and bedtime routines, time I cherish so much. I can be there for their well visits at the pediatrician and, inevitably, when someone gets sick, I can pick up the phone and call my manager without fear. I receive a resounding “Yes! Go take care of your girls! What can I do to support you in the meantime?” And while I feel guilty for taking time to focus on my family, because I’ve always been this way and just can’t shake that, ultimately, I know the work will get done, even if that may be outside of traditional business hours.

To work for a company that doesn’t just say they value work-life balance, but truly lives and breathes it, is a rarity. DCG is an incredibly special organization, with some of the most humble, talented, mission-driven, hard-working and caring team members.

A visit from our COO, Caitlin Donovan, and her lovely family (not pictured, our CEO, Adam Clampitt) just after Anabel was born.

Where I’m supposed to be

As a working mom I have a new perspective on the challenges of taking care of someone other than myself. For the first time, I feel like I’m truly where I’m supposed to be. My career is an important part of what makes me, me. While there are times when work gets busy and I spend less time with my family, I know it’s temporary and a natural part of the ebbs and flows of business. Ultimately, working at a company where they put their trust in you and give you the flexibility you need, makes you that much more motivated to give your all. I’m honored to work for DCG and hope that others get the opportunity to do so!

--

--

Jill Alarcon
DCG Life
Writer for

Vice President, Human Resources at DCG Communications