Growing with my garden

Witney James
DCG Life
Published in
4 min readJul 9, 2020
Woman in kitchen with butternut squash, green pepper, yellow squash, zucchini and cucumber.
Me with the most recent harvest from the garden.

Over the past four months, most of us have adopted some form of a “new normal” in response to the coronavirus pandemic. In addition, we’re witnessing a shift in our country demanding justice reform and equality for all, especially people of color. In short, the headline for 2020 should be “Major Change Alert: All Aboard!” This evolving environment that we are living in can be a profound stressor — it certainly has been for me — but there are actions we can take to protect our mental state and overall well-being.

Since March, my new normal has been teacher and entertainer to my 6-year-old son; caretaker and food source to my now 7-month-old baby girl; and co-worker, chef and master tasker to my husband all while working for at least 8 hours Monday through Friday. The picture I’ve painted, is very similar to what many others are experiencing, so the sudden merge of personal and professional time is not unique. However, the way I am coping with and navigating through this merge is different and could be helpful for others to try as well.

I’ve taken-up gardening and from my new hobby I have learned valuable lessons that I’ve translated and applied to support my well-being and professional development. These lessons I’ve listed below will hopefully help or inspire others to look inward during these unusual times to figure out what you can do to improve or maintain your well-being and make it through 2020 better and stronger.

Out with the old, in with the new

In April, my husband and I started our family’s garden which required us to pull all the weeds and plants that sprouted and grew during the fall and winter months. It took a lot of sweat, muscle, and overall effort but then again, so does taking care of yourself. Just like clearing the soil before planting, self-improvement and professional development often require doing away with old habits — starting with a clean slate to build upon. I do this by having an hour of “me time” every morning to run and clear my head in preparation for the day. By doing this, I can clearly think through my goals for the days and weeks ahead.

Water regularly

Man and boy watering garden together.
My husband and son watering our garden early in the season.

Once we planted the seeds, we were off to the races and had to make sure we watered the plants at least every other day. A variety of problems can arise from lack of water. The main one being the plants fail to produce any vegetables and die. In short, water equals life. Similarly, participating in workshops and training session has been my water as they have breathed new life into my passion and drive to grow in new ways even after more than 10 years of practicing strategic communications.

Pull the weeds

If left uncontrolled, weeds will overrun your garden significantly reducing your harvest. And if left unchecked, negativity can stymie professional and personal growth. From family, friends, colleagues, or clients, I have felt the effects of negativity. But just like pulling weeds in my garden, I pull away from people and things that do not support my growth. Doing this protects my peace of mind so that I can be productive and pass positive energy to others.

Harvest, enjoy, share

More of the fresh vegetables my family and I harvested from our garden.

The best part of gardening is harvesting and enjoying the fruits of your labor. We started out only gathering a few batches of spinach but now we’re pulling zucchini, yellow squash, green peppers, and cucumbers multiple times a week. Like harvesting vegetables, I am reaping the benefits of an employer that values continuous professional development, various professional associations, and interest groups all of which support my desire to grow with trainings, workshops, mentorship programs, and bootcamps. It is important to my well-being and sense of accomplishment to take advantage of these resources and opportunities so that I can share with others and be an asset to both my personal and professional communities.

It seems the world we live in is changing every day and that’s stressful, but there are outlets that provide a safe space for positive growth and well-being despite the chaos. Mine is gardening and from it I have learned to care for myself and prioritize my well-being so that I can produce positivity. As I continue to grow, I look forward to sharing that positivity with others.

--

--

Witney James
DCG Life
Editor for

PR pro, mom of two and all around fun-loving person!