Why I Vote (and hope my fellow DCGers do too)

Aisha Ahmad
DCG Life
Published in
3 min readNov 2, 2020

This year has been one of the craziest years I can remember in my lifetime. During this chaotic time, I am constantly reminded of what a privilege it is to vote. When I think about all the voices that go unheard, I think about my father. In 1980, my father immigrated to the United States from Pakistan at just 26 years old. Forty years later, he’s never been able to vote in an election, and yet he’s still affected by the policies and actions of the people in power.

My dad and me in Haripur, Pakistan, in January 2020

I vote because there are so many people who cannot, like my father, but are still affected by the outcomes of elections. It is a privilege that far too many Americans do not take advantage of themselves, with nearly 100 million people not casting votes in the 2016 election. That is 43% of the eligible voting population. Of this group of non-voters, 34% were minorities.

The makeup of eligible voters is changing. In 2010, minorities made up 28% of eligible voters, and in 2018, it increased to 33%. This increase of minority voters is also occurring in key battleground states. We must continue to empower these communities so that they are able to cast their vote this November.

Individuals in these communities often face obstacles to voting because of various policies and actions. There are a number of organizations making efforts to stop voter suppression; there’s even a mobile app — Guard My Vote — to ensure voters are educated and empowered to vote. To me, it’s simple: every person with the right to vote should have access to voting. It should be easy and convenient for everyone. This is why I urge my fellow DCGers to exercise their right to vote this November. Vote because there are so many who cannot. I also ask that you encourage your friends, family, and everyone you know to vote. Make a voting plan and vote early. Visit Vote411 to find out more information about all of the races and issues on your ballot because their outcomes impact you, from who becomes mayor to the candidate who wins the Oval Office. You can also take advantage of the up to two (2) hours of paid leave DCG is offering employees to make it easier to get to the polls on November 3rd. This year, DCG also added an 11th floating holiday, Heritage Day, to our suite of benefits. We are proud to say that a few of our team members are taking advantage of this floating holiday to volunteer at their local polling place on election day!

Let’s make our voices heard this November, DCG!

Visit Vote411.org and enter your address to see the issues and races on your ballot.

--

--