Meet the Dcoder: Jillian Winstanley

Dcode
Dcoding HR
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2022

This Q&A aims to introduce you to the passionate, frankly awesome Dcoders that bring their own jet pack everyday to drive commercial innovation in the federal market. This month’s spotlight features Jillian Winstanley — Government Program Manager, ex-gymnast, and Katy Perry’s #1 fan. Let’s learn more about her journey at Dcode!

Why did you decide to work at Dcode?

I found Dcode through our CEO, Meagan Metzger. We were members of the same gymnastics team at The George Washington University. And while we were on the team at different points in time, we had the same head coach, and I knew that the team and culture at Dcode would be similar to what we had as GW gymnasts. I thrived under that environment as an NCAA gymnast, and knew I’d be living the “corporate version of GW gymnastics” at Dcode. This has absolutely proven to be true, and the people/culture at Dcode are one of my favorite aspects of the job!

What accomplishments are you most proud of at Dcode?

I personally am most proud of my team’s work with the National Security Innovation Network (NSIN). Through NSIN, Dcode runs two accelerator programs (Vector and Emerge) which take early-stage, university-based teams and helps teach them the fundamentals of standing up a dual-use business (aka a business that’s equipped to sell in both the commercial and federal markets). Our NSIN accelerators have been some of the most rewarding projects for me, because you get to see such amazing growth and progress from the teams over the 10-week program. They’re so eager to learn, and some of the early-stage tech we get to see and help grow is incredible!

What kinds of projects do you like working on the most?

As the resident Finance nerd at Dcode, my favorite passion project is supporting the Dcode Capital team. As an analyst with Dcode Capital, I have the opportunity to conduct due diligence on our potential investments, while also supporting our current portfolio companies’ federal go-to-market strategies.

What does your typical day look like?

Every day at Dcode is a bit different, but my typical day involves a good mix of both meetings and heads-down time to grind and get work done. On any given day, I could have various types of meetings, ranging from check-ins with current clients, business development calls with potential future customers, and/or internal meetings to catch up with my teammates. One thing that’s great about Dcode is that we have No Meeting Wednesdays and Half Day Fridays, which really helps you balance your workload with the endless stream of zoom calls we’ve grown accustomed to in today’s society.

How has your career grown since starting at Dcode?

Dcode has supported my growth greatly since joining the team in March 2021. My immediate team as well as Dcode’s leadership have been very supportive in helping me create a role for myself that best supports my long-term professional development and career interests. One specific example of something I got to do that was a great learning experience was standing up Dcode’s Government team’s internal financial processes and controls. This included building our pricing model from scratch, developing spend plan/budgeting templates, and creating a more centralized and streamlined pipeline tool to track future contract opportunities. Additionally, Dcode has allowed me to grow outside my initial role as a Government Program Manager to supporting Dcode Capital as well. I’m super appreciative of that opportunity, as it closely aligns with my background and interests in the world of Finance.

What advice do you have for prospective Dcoders?

Here at Dcode, we have a saying “no Dcoder left behind.” So to future Dcoders, I’d say get ready to learn a lot, to work really hard, to have the opportunity to try a bunch of different things, and, most importantly, get ready to have a ton of fun along the way!

Learn more about working with our gov team, and check out our open positions here to find the right fit for your talents and experience!

--

--

Dcode
Dcoding HR

Connecting the tech industry and government to drive commercial innovation in the federal market #DcodeTheGov