With Personal Manager: Hay Mun Tun

DDIY Studio
DDIY Studio
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2018

Ma Hay Mun is a twenty-three-year-old law student with a baby face and wears her hair up in a swinging ponytail when she’s at work. In jeans and checkered shirts, she dons stud earrings and the air of youthful energy. She looks like any other student looking for work experience, except for the intense focus and alacrity with which she takes in any environment, especially her clients’ homes.

Where are you from?

I was born in Yangon and I grew up in Yangon. I am living with my aunt and two other cousins in North Dagon.

What are your day-to-day responsibilities at DDIY?

I am both a Personal Manager and an Assistant Trainer. As a Personal Manager, I have three main clients who live in Ahlone and Yankin townships. My daily activities include grocery shopping and home visits where I make sure my clients’ homes are in perfect order. As an Assistant Trainer, I help to train newcomers at our training houses with the comprehensive company SOP. Because I am young and have limited exposure, I am always looking to learn from my Head of Team how to anticipate the needs of our clients to turn their houses into homes.

What is your favourite thing about your job?

I like leaving handwritten postcards behind as it really grounds me to the core of the company — to serve with sincerity. The human touch of it really connects me with my clients. And I feel really appreciated when my clients write back with a thank you note or a list of requests as it makes me believe that what we are doing truly adds value to my clients’ lives.

What is your favourite thing to do in Yangon?

In my free time, I like to explore the different food courts in shopping malls. There is a big selection of halal food at these food courts and I also get to shop at the stores before and after meals.

--

--

DDIY Studio
DDIY Studio

Dedicated to the journey of building smarter homes and urban communities, and capturing the beauty found across Southeast Asia. Visit dd-iy.com for more.